Subscribe: Subscribe to BigBlueBallRSSSubscribe to BigBlueBall by emailEmailSubscribe to BigBlueBallTwitter


Go Back   BigBlueBall Forums > Instant Messaging > AIM Support
Forgot Password? Register
Connect with Facebook

Reply
 
LinkBack Topic Tools
  #21 (permalink)  
Old 02-12-2004, 06:22 PM
Junior Member
 

Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Stratford, CT, USA.
Posts: 4
JCross is on a distinguished road (10)
Send a message via AIM to JCross Send a message via Yahoo to JCross
I'm sure everyone here is anxiously waiting for the owners of this new "Osama Captured" AIM embedded code threat to be revealed. My company, as you may know, is also responsible for preparing research for a class action lawsuit against Xupiter. You can read our Wired article here: http://www.wired.com/news/infostruct...,60694,00.html

The IPCC is the first (and to my knowledge, the only) group that has confirmed the identity of the owners of BuddyLinks/PSD Tools (the people who make this new AIM threat).

You can read their profile in our Privacy Offender Database here:
http://www.ipccouncil.com/OffenderPr...nksProfile.htm

I'd also like anyone who claims that their AIM profile gets deleted after an uninstall, or anyone who cannot access buddylinks.net after being infected, to contact me directly at either XupiterGuys929@yahoo.com (preferably) or JCross@IPCCouncil.com Thanks!!

Jay, IPCC
Reply With Quote
 

 
  #22 (permalink)  
Old 02-12-2004, 06:33 PM
Jeff's Avatar
Administrator
 

Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: San Clemente, CA, USA
Posts: 9,077
Jeff has left a lasting impression (500)Jeff has left a lasting impression (500)Jeff has left a lasting impression (500)Jeff has left a lasting impression (500)Jeff has left a lasting impression (500)Jeff has left a lasting impression (500)Jeff has left a lasting impression (500)
Send a message via ICQ to Jeff Send a message via AIM to Jeff Send a message via MSN to Jeff Send a message via Yahoo to Jeff Send a message via Skype™ to Jeff
Good post, Jay.

I'll just add what AOL has put on their site regarding this nasty business, including their official instructions for removing it:
Quote:
quote:Important Information
We have received reports that a number of AIM users have received Instant Messages from someone on their Buddy List asking them to check out the following link: http://www.wgutv.com/osama_capture.php?dII5

IF YOU RECEIVE THIS MESSAGE, DO NOT CLICK ON THE LINK, EVEN IF IT COMES FROM SOMEONE ON YOUR BUDDY LIST.

This link takes users to a web site that asks them to download a game. If the user agrees to download the game, the web site also installs a secret "adware" program on the user's machine that can deliver unwanted advertisments and promotions. The adware program will also send the same link out to every person on the user's Buddy List -- spamming their friends and associates with a link to the same adware.

HERE'S THE FIX:
If you have already clicked on the link and downloaded that software, you can remove the adware program from your machine by clicking on Start --> Control Panels --> Add/Remove Programs and then removing the applications related to:
• BuddyLinks
• PSDT Messaging Integration
• PSD Tools ChannelUp v1.0 (remove only)

Additionally, if you have downloaded this program, you may want to alert friends and associates on your Buddy List how they can remove this software.
The culprits who spread this Osama-hoax-adware should be punished for their deceptive and unethical practices.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old 02-13-2004, 02:42 AM
Junior Member
 

Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Stratford, CT, USA.
Posts: 4
JCross is on a distinguished road (10)
Send a message via AIM to JCross Send a message via Yahoo to JCross
I'm getting even more reports that users who are infected are unable to access buddylinks.net. Is it just me, or does it seem suspicious that an honest "AIM Enhancement" software blocks users from accessing the vendor homepage?

J
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old 02-13-2004, 10:51 AM
Jeff's Avatar
Administrator
 

Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: San Clemente, CA, USA
Posts: 9,077
Jeff has left a lasting impression (500)Jeff has left a lasting impression (500)Jeff has left a lasting impression (500)Jeff has left a lasting impression (500)Jeff has left a lasting impression (500)Jeff has left a lasting impression (500)Jeff has left a lasting impression (500)
Send a message via ICQ to Jeff Send a message via AIM to Jeff Send a message via MSN to Jeff Send a message via Yahoo to Jeff Send a message via Skype™ to Jeff
According to Wired News, AOL is considering legal action against BuddyLinks.net. While the BuddyLink's "useful" add-on may have a CYA-TOS, the reality is that this sort of program is unethical and taints everyone associated with it... even, in this case, AOL.

And check out the link on page two of that Wired article -- a link to BigBlueBall!
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old 02-13-2004, 12:44 PM
Junior Member
 

Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: .
Posts: 13
stev02 is on a distinguished road (10)
I have a site also for this...

http://antibuddylinks.mixxstudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old 02-15-2004, 04:35 AM
Junior Member
 

Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Hunt Valley, MD, USA.
Posts: 3
JosefBud is on a distinguished road (10)
Send a message via ICQ to JosefBud Send a message via AIM to JosefBud Send a message via MSN to JosefBud Send a message via Yahoo to JosefBud
Restart your computer. When it starts booting up, constantly press F8 until you get to a screen that asks how you want to boot up Windows. Go into safe mode. When windows loads up in safe mode, go to start->programs->accessories->system tools->system restore. Click Next. You'll get a calendar. Pick the day before that you KNOW you got the adware on. You should know what to do from there.
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old 02-15-2004, 10:04 AM
David's Avatar
Senior Member
 

Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 5,288
David is a name known to all (400)David is a name known to all (400)David is a name known to all (400)David is a name known to all (400)David is a name known to all (400)
Send a message via AIM to David
Quote:
quote:Originally posted by JosefBud

Restart your computer. When it starts booting up, constantly press F8 until you get to a screen that asks how you want to boot up Windows. Go into safe mode. When windows loads up in safe mode, go to start->programs->accessories->system tools->system restore. Click Next. You'll get a calendar. Pick the day before that you KNOW you got the adware on. You should know what to do from there.
Not only does that only work for Windows ME/XP users, but system restore should never be considered a solution to this type of thing.

David Amenta
Person Meets Profession - Dave Amenta .com
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old 02-15-2004, 07:26 PM
Junior Member
 

Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Hunt Valley, MD, USA.
Posts: 3
JosefBud is on a distinguished road (10)
Send a message via ICQ to JosefBud Send a message via AIM to JosefBud Send a message via MSN to JosefBud Send a message via Yahoo to JosefBud
Yeah it shouldn't...it also shouldn't have to be used at all but considering that my computer wouldn't boot until I got rid of it from system restore, sometimes you have to.
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old 02-19-2004, 08:36 PM
Junior Member
 

Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: .
Posts: 1
irresistible49X is on a distinguished road (10)
which of the methods listed above of removing it work like the downloading things
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Topic: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Topic Tools


Similar Topics
Topic Topic Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AIM clients - How to put the lockdown on security! WhiteMateria AIM Support 14 08-02-2008 06:05 PM
Osama Captured? Qwerty The BigBlueBall Lounge 13 11-16-2004 03:50 PM
Warning: Security risk when using MSN Messenger 7 BETA BigBlueBall News Windows Live Messenger News 0 10-05-2004 01:00 AM
IMSecure Pro by ZoneLabs BLACK HAT Online Privacy, Safety & Security 2 08-13-2003 10:13 AM
AOL IM Security Hole: Sign of Things To Come? BigBlueBall News AIM News 0 10-05-2001 01:00 AM

 

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:09 AM.