Subscribe: Subscribe to BigBlueBallRSSSubscribe to BigBlueBall by emailEmailSubscribe to BigBlueBallTwitter


Go Back   BigBlueBall Forums > Community Center > The BigBlueBall Lounge
Forgot Password? Register
Connect with Facebook

Reply
 
LinkBack Topic Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 04-16-2004, 02:51 PM
Someguy03's Avatar
Senior Member
 

Join Date: May 2003
Location: Santa Ana, california, USA.
Posts: 2,339
Someguy03 will become famous soon enough (50)
Send a message via AIM to Someguy03 Send a message via MSN to Someguy03
This email from microsoft fake?

Notice who this message is from. It's claiming that its from microsoft, and wants me to download an attachment with the latest april security patch. Anyone think this is safe?


Date: Thu, 15 Apr 2004 10:01:55 -0500 (CDT)
Date: Date header was inserted by smtp.prodigy.net.mx
From: "Network Security Department" <[u]yczrydahka@news.com[/b]> Add to Address Book
Subject: Newest Critical Pack
To: @,




MS Customer

this is the latest version of security update, the "April 2004, Cumulative Patch" update which eliminates all known security vulnerabilities affecting MS Internet Explorer, MS Outlook and MS Outlook Express as well as three newly discovered vulnerabilities. Install now to help protect your computer from these vulnerabilities, the most serious of which could allow an attacker to run executable on your system. This update includes the functionality of all previously released patches.


System requirements Windows 95/98/Me/2000/NT/XP
This update applies to MS Internet Explorer, version 4.01 and later
MS Outlook, version 8.00 and later
MS Outlook Express, version 4.01 and later
Recommendation Customers should install the patch at the earliest opportunity.
How to install Run attached file. Choose Yes on displayed dialog box.
How to use You don't need to do anything after installing this item.

Microsoft Product Support Services and Knowledge Base articles can be found on the Microsoft Technical Support web site. For security-related information about Microsoft products, please visit the Microsoft Security Advisor web site, or Contact Us.

Thank you for using Microsoft products.

Please do not reply to this message. It was sent from an unmonitored e-mail address and we are unable to respond to any replies.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The names of the actual companies and products mentioned herein are the trademarks of their respective owners.

Contact Us | Legal | TRUSTe
©2004 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved. Terms of Use | Privacy Statement | Accessibility

Reply With Quote
 

 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 04-16-2004, 02:57 PM
MartinBradley's Avatar
Senior Member
 

Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: England
Posts: 2,003
MartinBradley is on a distinguished road (10)
Send a message via MSN to MartinBradley Send a message via Yahoo to MartinBradley
Yes, it is fake, DON'T OPEN IT! Microsoft state that they will never send security updates by email. The email you recieved will be a virus. So don't open it, just delete it.

"Take me home, United Road!"
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 04-16-2004, 03:01 PM
Senior Member
 

Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 981
Brian is on a distinguished road (10)
I believe if anything coming from Microsoft, the E-mail address would be something like support@microsoft.com.

But anyway, to be on the safe side.... Download that through http://Microsoft.com or http://www.WindowsUpdate.com .

"If we always look back, we lose sight of what's ahead."
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 04-16-2004, 03:03 PM
shifter's Avatar
Senior Member
 

Join Date: May 2003
Location: Canada.
Posts: 3,518
shifter is almost a celebrity (200)shifter is almost a celebrity (200)shifter is almost a celebrity (200)
The email address is a dead giveaway, although in some cases they can be masked or altered to appear legitimate as well. Another giveaway is that there is no unsubscribe link, MS would surely allow you to opt-out of any kind of email updates. And finally, the easiest way to know would be to ask yourself, "Have I signed up for an email update with Microsoft, and given them my email address?". The answer to that would likely be "No" as I don't believe MS even does this.

Since when does MS email security updates? It's most definitely NOT from MS. If you want to update, use the Windows update site, but never trust an email attachment. I get this kind of crap everyday, most of it is very convincing.

[color="DarkOrange"]ShiftThis.net
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 04-16-2004, 03:37 PM
detn8r's Avatar
Moderator
 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Uxbridge, Canada
Posts: 5,707
detn8r has much to be proud of (1000)detn8r has much to be proud of (1000)detn8r has much to be proud of (1000)detn8r has much to be proud of (1000)detn8r has much to be proud of (1000)detn8r has much to be proud of (1000)detn8r has much to be proud of (1000)detn8r has much to be proud of (1000)detn8r has much to be proud of (1000)
Interesting. I got one of these emails aswell, but with a Outlook made email. Yes - it was from support@microsoft.com, but with Outlook, you can spoof any email.

The idiot you emailed you's smtp server is right in the email it self: smtp.prodigy.net.mx. Last time I checked Microsoft doesn't use Prodigy.

Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 04-16-2004, 11:40 PM
Someguy03's Avatar
Senior Member
 

Join Date: May 2003
Location: Santa Ana, california, USA.
Posts: 2,339
Someguy03 will become famous soon enough (50)
Send a message via AIM to Someguy03 Send a message via MSN to Someguy03
Ya the smtp server was the thing that made me notice it was fake. Plus the file attatchment, which was install8.exe. I also noticed that they have grammer errors, and I have never seen Microsoft use "MS" anywhere.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 04-16-2004, 11:55 PM
David's Avatar
Senior Member
 

Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 5,288
David is a name known to all (400)David is a name known to all (400)David is a name known to all (400)David is a name known to all (400)David is a name known to all (400)
Send a message via AIM to David
Uhm.....


* Microsoft DOES send security bulletins.
* Microsoft NEVER sends attachments
* Microsoft would surely use install_x86_en_april_2004_build3760.567.exe, they always use complex names,
* Microsoft will ALWAYS link you to an article or *.microsoft.com download link in their security bulletins
* All Microsoft mail is handled by *.Microsoft.com or *.MSFT.net
* It's possible for anyone to spoof any address, I can be BillGates@Microsoft.com or AOLSucks@aol.com.

David Amenta
Person Meets Profession - Dave Amenta .com
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Topic: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Topic Tools


Similar Topics
Topic Topic Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone tried Messenger Plus 2.0? Jeff Windows Live Messenger Support 26 03-13-2006 05:34 PM
Gilly Messenger 3.0 (Beta) Released Hasan Other Instant Messengers 5 07-18-2005 03:06 PM
if anyone gets a yahoo email or a file to download flyinghighnow Yahoo! Messenger Support 0 03-09-2004 07:25 PM
Microsoft retires Netmeeting detn8r MSN / WLM Archive 5 11-26-2003 12:02 AM
Microsoft revs up alerts service BigBlueBall News Windows Live Messenger News 0 10-05-2001 01:00 AM

 

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:45 PM.