What is the BigBlueNetwork?

Go Back   BigBlueBall Forums > Instant Messaging > Windows Live Messenger Support > MSN / WLM Archive

Join today and you won't have to look at these ads any more. Learn more.
 
 
LinkBack Topic Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 11-14-2004, 11:05 PM
detn8r's Avatar
detn8r detn8r is offline
Global Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,517
detn8r has left a lasting impression (500)detn8r has left a lasting impression (500)detn8r has left a lasting impression (500)detn8r has left a lasting impression (500)detn8r has left a lasting impression (500)detn8r has left a lasting impression (500)detn8r has left a lasting impression (500)
Funner virus doing rounds on Messenger (again)

Over the past 24 hours, I've had several people messaging me trying to send "funny.exe". Obviously a virus. I did some research, and I came up with the following reference: http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,1759,1675472,00.asp

It seems to be about a month old, but it's doing its rounds again. So, be sure to know, if a friend sends you a file called "funny.exe" it IS a virus. And do your friend the favor, and direct them to this thread.

For removol instructions and more information about the threat of this virus, see link above.

Good luck, and post any questions below.

  #2 (permalink)  
Old 11-22-2004, 07:55 AM
Mr_V Mr_V is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: London, United Kingdom.
Posts: 35
Mr_V is on a distinguished road (10)
Sorry for asking what is probably a mindbogglingly obvious thing, but...

"Messenger viruses" can only infect your PC if someone you're chatting with someone, and they try to send you an virus-installation file, and you accept and run it, right? There is no other way, am I correct?
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 11-24-2004, 02:29 AM
lethalman lethalman is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: United Kingdom.
Posts: 195
lethalman is on a distinguished road (10)
Send a message via AIM to lethalman
thanks for the info bro.
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 11-25-2004, 08:37 AM
Lebiton Lebiton is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: dsfgsfdg, afdgdf, Portugal.
Posts: 3
Lebiton is on a distinguished road (10)
Send a message via MSN to Lebiton
i have that virus in my computer I got it in http://www.ontargetpage.tk that thing is 2 find your password

im a newbiee if some guys of you are hackers please contact me

[Edit:] Dummy proofed url. Also, please do not ask for personal contact via the forums.
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 12-17-2004, 09:02 PM
lethalman lethalman is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: United Kingdom.
Posts: 195
lethalman is on a distinguished road (10)
Send a message via AIM to lethalman
thanks for the info
 



Currently Active Users Viewing This Topic: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new topics
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Similar Topics
Topic Topic Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Connectivity error and common error solutions Sjoerd Windows Live Messenger Support 6 01-01-2006 02:03 PM
Messenger Plus! 3 BETA Review! DXtremz Windows Live Messenger Support 44 09-14-2005 02:32 PM
Virus info regarding MSN Messenger and add-ons detn8r MSN / WLM Archive 0 06-15-2004 02:17 PM
Messenger Plus! 3 Feature List BigBlueBall News Windows Live Messenger News 0 05-21-2004 01:00 AM
Yahoo! Messenger Launches ′IMVironments′ With Next Generation of Yahoo! Messenger Service BigBlueBall News Yahoo! Messenger News 0 10-22-2001 01:00 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:03 PM.
Return to the BigBlueBall.com homepageHome | Contact Us | Privacy Statement | Advertise | Top
Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.0.0 RC6
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.0.0 RC6
©1999 - 2008 BigBlueBall.com All rights reserved.