Subscribe: Subscribe to BigBlueBallRSSSubscribe to BigBlueBall by emailEmailSubscribe to BigBlueBallTwitter


Go Back   BigBlueBall Forums > Instant Messaging > Yahoo! Messenger Support
Forgot Password? Register
Connect with Facebook

Reply
 
LinkBack Topic Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 06-03-2002, 08:02 PM
Junior Member
 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Florida.
Posts: 12
Marky is on a distinguished road (10)
Yahoo virus

There is a virus going around (not sure it's name) affecting people in Yahoo chat where they automatically respond (or in some cases initiate) a private message with you beginning with "Hey, click on this http://23.23.23.23" and, apparently, if you click on it, you download the same virus. I haven't clicked on it, but see a lot of people affected by it. My guess is that it's an Active-X virus. Does anyone know its name or a cure?

ps. That above http address is one I made up, and not the virus site. Also, I do not have the virus.

Reply With Quote
 

 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 06-04-2002, 12:01 AM
Jeff's Avatar
Administrator
 

Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: San Clemente, CA, USA
Posts: 9,077
Jeff has left a lasting impression (500)Jeff has left a lasting impression (500)Jeff has left a lasting impression (500)Jeff has left a lasting impression (500)Jeff has left a lasting impression (500)Jeff has left a lasting impression (500)Jeff has left a lasting impression (500)
Send a message via ICQ to Jeff Send a message via AIM to Jeff Send a message via MSN to Jeff Send a message via Yahoo to Jeff Send a message via Skype™ to Jeff
This is not a Yahoo Messenger virus, it's just an alternate way of "tricking" unsuspecting (and unprotected) users into exposing themselves to a virus at a web site.

It's very similar to a virus that was going around back in February via MSN Messenger.

The lesson?

Don't accept URLs from strangers! And for God's sake, run a decent anti-virus program and keep your virus definition files up-to-date.

Jeff Hester aka "Mister BigBlueBall.com"
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 06-04-2002, 06:41 AM
Junior Member
 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Florida.
Posts: 12
Marky is on a distinguished road (10)
After reading your link, I think that you're right, Jeff -- that it is a worm, since most users claim to have no control over sending it. I have gotten it from 16-year-old boys up to 49-year-old women. They are aware that they are sending it, and immediately send a follow-up message saying not to go to that site, that it is a virus, and that they have no control over why their (initial) private messages contain that reference.




Edited by - Marky on 06/04/2002 05:45:30
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 08-26-2002, 06:00 PM
Xteria864's Avatar
Senior Member
 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 250
Xteria864 is on a distinguished road (10)
Send a message via AIM to Xteria864 Send a message via Skype™ to Xteria864
omg that kept coming up on mine when it said it on my friends thing and i was like talkin to someone else and it did it and i think that is what caused my computer to crash they are working on it now i wonder when i will get it back.....

Damn!!! That Is One Ghetto Booty!!!!
×÷•.•´¯`•)» Pluto «(•´¯`•.•÷×

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 08-29-2002, 08:03 PM
Senior Member
 

Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 158
Joe Tyson is on a distinguished road (10)
Send a message via ICQ to Joe Tyson Send a message via AIM to Joe Tyson Send a message via MSN to Joe Tyson Send a message via Yahoo to Joe Tyson
ah its not a viruses its probley some ip tracker so they can get your ip address or it could after that redirect to an eme programed site!

Joe
http://www.jkmagicjk.com - For stuff about bots and so on.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 08-30-2002, 08:17 AM
Xteria864's Avatar
Senior Member
 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 250
Xteria864 is on a distinguished road (10)
Send a message via AIM to Xteria864 Send a message via Skype™ to Xteria864
anywayz the memory is lost from that labtop

Damn!!! That Is One Ghetto Booty!!!!
×÷•.•´¯`•)» Pluto «(•´¯`•.•÷×

Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 10-16-2002, 02:55 AM
Junior Member
 

Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: .
Posts: 1
Strykercjd is on a distinguished road (10)
Send a message via ICQ to Strykercjd Send a message via MSN to Strykercjd Send a message via Yahoo to Strykercjd
ok for us stupid ppl....how do you get rid of it
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 10-16-2002, 10:02 AM
twistedmetal's Avatar
Senior Member
 

Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 572
twistedmetal will become famous soon enough (50)
Run an AV.

::Twistedmetal::
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 10-16-2002, 11:36 AM
Senior Member
 

Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Cedar Bluff, Al, USA.
Posts: 256
rhiannon is on a distinguished road (10)
Quote:
quote:ah its not a viruses its probley some ip tracker so they can get your ip address or it could after that redirect to an eme programed site!
Ah, yes it is.
Anyway if you want their IP address its already available on your computer, no need to ask or run an app.

Rhiannon
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Topic: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Topic Tools


Similar Topics
Topic Topic Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Yahoo! Messenger “Online Status” Privacy Issue Chet Yahoo! Messenger Support 11 05-30-2009 06:22 PM
My ideals to improve Yahoo! Account-Security n3td3v Yahoo! Messenger Support 10 02-25-2006 02:49 AM
Yahoo! Announces Yahoo! 360 Service Jeff Yahoo! Messenger News 3 08-09-2005 12:23 AM
Yahoo! Messenger Launches ′IMVironments′ With Next Generation of Yahoo! Messenger Service BigBlueBall News Yahoo! Messenger News 0 10-22-2001 01:00 AM

 

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:48 PM.