What is the BigBlueNetwork?

Go Back   BigBlueBall Forums > Instant Messaging > Yahoo! Messenger Support

Join today and you won't have to look at these ads any more. Learn more.
Reply
 
LinkBack Topic Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 03-09-2004, 07:25 PM
flyinghighnow flyinghighnow is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: .
Posts: 66
flyinghighnow is on a distinguished road (10)
if anyone gets a yahoo email or a file to download

If anyone gets a email with the subject with Warning about your e-mail account. from staff@yahoo.com with a zip file attachment do not download it it contains the virus "W32.Beagle.J@mm" in the attachment.

it will have this in the email

Dear user of YAHOO.COM,

Your e-mail account has been temporary disabled because of
unauthorized access.

Pay attention on attached file.

For security reasons attached file is password protected. The
password is "14132".

Kind regards,
The YAHOO.COM team http://www.yAHOO.COM



Sometimes they try to pass it off on yahoo messenger in a zip and try and get you to download it, they also try it on Yahoo chats also.

Got this back from Yahoo, it is helpfull.

Hello,

Thank you for writing to Yahoo! Mail.

Recently, there have been reports of theW32.Beagle.J@mm/W32/Bagle.j@mm
worm virus spreading quickly across email networks. Typical of worms,
the W32.Beagle.J@mm worm propagates itself by sending a mass email with
an infected attachment to email addresses found in an infected
computer's files (e.g., address books, text files, etc.).

Infected attachments may come in the form of the following files: .zip
or .pif. The .zip file contains a password-protected .exe file with
the
5-digit password mentioned in the email. In addition, the email that is
sent out by the worm will contain a forged email address in the "From:"
field of the email header beginning with one of the following:
management@, administration@, staff@, noreply@, or support@.
Therefore,
email users may receive an infected message and it may appear to have
come from a familiar domain, when in fact, it came from a totally
different source. (Note: The forging of the email header may also
result
in users receiving "Failure Delivery" messages for messages they never
sent out. If you receive such a message, we encourage you to just
delete
it.)

For more information on this particular worm, you may visit:

http://securityresponse.symantec.com...agle.j@mm.html
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Topic: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new topics
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Similar Topics
Topic Topic Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gilly Messenger 3.0 (Beta) Released Hasan Other Instant Messengers 5 07-18-2005 03:06 PM
AIMLite 5.2 + iMod2 / AIMLite 5.5 WhiteMateria AIM Support 22 07-24-2004 04:53 PM
Msn Messenger File transfer acapabilities Feedback cpr MSN / WLM Archive 3 10-05-2003 05:51 PM
Yahoo! Messenger Launches ′IMVironments′ With Next Generation of Yahoo! Messenger Service BigBlueBall News Yahoo! Messenger News 0 10-22-2001 01:00 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:11 PM.
Return to the BigBlueBall.com homepageHome | Contact Us | Privacy Statement | Advertise | Top
Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.0.0 RC6
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.0.0 RC6
©1999 - 2008 BigBlueBall.com All rights reserved.